Research Grants Awarded to Faculty

We would like to share with the entire department the continuing success for our faculty in obtaining research funding. Please join us in congratulating the recipients of the following awards.


Bin Liu, PhD: UCSF-Pfizer CTI, Site-Specific Immune Activation by Novel Antibody
The overall goal is to develop novel bispecific antibodies with one arm engaging and activating cytotoxic T Cells and other tumor cells to achieve site-specific immune activation. An additional aim is to take advantage of the very high tumor specificity of the target antigen develop novel antibody-drug conjugates to treat several cancers that are resistant to current therapy.
Visit Bin's profile


Michael Lipnick, MD: UCSF-REAC Grant, Novel Methods for Accurately Measuring Blood Oxygen Saturation in Patients with Severe Anemia
This project is part of the Department's Division of Global Health Equity and the Hypoxia Lab. The project will develop a novel method to simulate severe anemia and hypoxia during in-vitro pulse oximetry measurements. This technique will be used to refine the accuracy of pulse oximetry during severe anemia with an emphasis on device development for use in low-income countries, where severe anemia is disproportionately present.
Visit Michael's profile


Claus Niemann, MD: Stanford University Subaward (NIH Prime), Storage and Recall of Human B Cell Memory of Influenza Over Tissues and Time
Each individual elicits a diverse and complex mixture of different B cell clonal lineages after vaccination or infection, some of which are retained as memory B cells or plasma cells. However, the relationships between antibody specificity and affinity in determining which B cell lineages persist, which cellular compartments they occupy, and what future antigens they are able to recognize are not well understood. One aim is to determine the clonal relationships and HA variant specificity of antibody repertoires in memory B cells in human lymph node, spleen, and blood, compared to bone marrow plasma cells, from organ donors of varying ages.
Visit Claus' profile


Helen Kim, MPH, PhD: University of Pennsylvania Subaward (NIH Prime), TLR4 and the Microbiome in CCM Disease
This proposal will further test the role of endothelial TLR4 signaling and the gut microbiome in cerebral cavernous malformation (CCM) disease pathogenesis using both mouse and human studies. These studies will significantly expand our understanding of the molecular and physiologic basis of CCM pathogenesis, and lay the foundation for translating these discoveries to new therapies for CCM disease based on blocking TLR4 signaling or altering the gut microbiome.
Visit Helen's profile


Judith Hellman MD: NIH/NIGMS, T32 Renewal, Comprehensive Anesthesia Research Training
The purpose of the program is to prepare trainees to become independent investigators who are skilled in clinical and basic research study design models and analytic techniques, so that they will become productive in an academic research environment.
Visit Judith's profile


Jacqueline Leung, MD: NIH/NIA R21AG053715, Acute Preoperative Sleep Disruption and Postoperative Delirium
This project is designed to determine the relationship between sleep disruption before and after surgery in order to determine the optimal time period for intervention.
Visit Jackie's profile


Zhonghui Guan, MD: NIH/NINDS R01 NS100801, Regulation of Nerve Injury-Induced Gene Expression in Neuropathic Pain
Numerous genes are induced in the sensory neurons after nerve injury, and many of them contribute to the development of neuropathic pain. Rather than targeting the individual genes induced after nerve injury, we hypothesize that targeting the transcriptional mechanism may prevent the induction of these genes and therefore prevent the development of neuropathic pain, including persistent postoperative pain.
Visit Zhonghui's profile


Benn Lancman, MBBS
ZSFG Award, Video Laryngoscopy in Code Bag

This project is designed to provide portable VL solution to allow best practice airway management outside the OR/ICU or ED. The VL equipment will be deployed in the code bags in March and will include some training with the equipment in the OR.

ZSFG Award, Implementation of Standard Work for Emergency Airway Management
In collaboration between anesthesia, emergency medicine, and the ICU departments, this project will provide an organization wide process for the management of non-elective intubations achieved through the implementation of the Vortex Approach. This grant will fund cognitive aids, and visual tools for the airway carts.
Visit Benn's profile


Jens Krombach, MD: ZSFG Award, Development and Optimization of Clinical Checklists for Routine and Emergency Procedures

Jen¹s group has implemented an unique approach to health care checklists that has not been attempted before. He has developed a thorough clinical checklist system to help avoid errors and omissions during any critical step of routine and crisis anesthesia situations. This project will help further develop this implemented system.
Visit Jens' profile