UCSF Anesthesia T32 Training Grant Renewed

researcher in blue nitrile gloves uses a dropper
July 11, 2022
By Morgen Ahearn

The UCSF Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care’s institutional research training grant (Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award T32 GM08440) was renewed for another five years of funding, starting July 1, 2022. Currently led by Judith Hellman (PI) and Helen Kim (Co-PI), the grant is entering its 26th year.

The purpose of the T32 grant is to train postdoctoral research fellows to conduct research in the broad areas encompassed by the discipline of anesthesiology. The T32 is part of the department’s larger Pathway to Scientific Independence (PSI) research training program. Each year, the department appoints four T32 fellows, many of whom come from our residency program (both the research and categorical tracks). The fellows spend 2-3 years dedicated to research-intensive activities: conducting original research with a UCSF faculty mentor; taking coursework in topics such as statistics, scientific writing, and research ethics; giving presentations; and writing grants and manuscripts.

This longstanding grant has been critical in supporting anesthesia research trainees as they gain additional research experience and prepare to submit their own grant applications. Most program alumni continue onto research-intensive faculty positions, including 11 current UCSF Anesthesia faculty (listed below).

T32 Alumni on the Faculty