Neil Cambronero, MD, left, assistant professor of Clinical Surgery, Paula Price, PA, center, physician assistant, and Reia Zimmer, RN, perform a cardiac surgery,

Do elderly patients undergoing coronary revascularization procedures suffer higher rates of cognitive decline than those undergoing cardiac catheterization procedures? Dr.

Enhanced Recovery after Surgery (ERAS) is a standardized approach to caring for patients before, during, and after surgery, that is intended to shorten hospital stays, speed the patient’s recovery process, and reduce costs. The ERAS concept was introduced in 1997 by Dr.

Portrait of Dr. Adrian Gelb and his plaque from Capital Medical University

In recognition of his passionate work to advance the knowledge and practice of anesthesiology, Dr. Adrian Gelb has been appointed as an honorary professor at Capital Medical University, in Beijing, China.

Portrait of Dr. Adrian Gelb

We are pleased to announce that Dr. Adrian Gelb, professor emeritus of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care at UCSF, is the recipient of the Gold Medal Award from the Canadian Anesthesiologists’ Society.