Professor Kristina Sullivan, MD, Appointed the Sol Shnider Endowed Chair for Anesthesia Education

We are pleased to announce that Professor Kristina Sullivan, MD, has been appointed as the Sol Shnider Endowed Chair for Anesthesia Education. In this role, Dr. Sullivan will continue to support medical education in the UCSF School of Medicine. She has been a member of the UCSF SOM Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators since 2014.


Dr. Sullivan exemplifies Dr. Shnider’s commitment to medical education. After medical school at Georgetown University, she graduated from an internal medicine residency at Stanford University. She then completed her UCSF Anesthesia residency in 2005. Following her two residencies, Dr. Sullivan completed both critical care medicine and cardiac anesthesia fellowships at UCSF, before she joined the faculty in the Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care in 2007. Since joining the faculty, Dr. Sullivan has worked tirelessly to support the Division of Anesthesia Education, helping to establish the Anesthesia internship program in 2008, which she directs. She is currently the Associate Director for Anesthesia Education.

Dr. Shnider arrived at UCSF in 1966, after training with Virginia Apgar at Columbia University. He established the Department of Anesthesia’s Division of OB Anesthesia, and was one of the first anesthesiologists to realize the importance of the fetal lamb model, that allowed researchers to gain a better understanding of how to monitor both the fetus and the mother. He was also instrumental in bringing awareness to the impact of anesthesia on the fetus, publishing the seminal text on OB Anesthesia, “Anesthesia for Obstetrics, 1st Edition,” in 1979. While Dr. Shnider’s research was cutting edge, he was perhaps best known for his teaching and for his entertaining and informative lectures, which attracted “what could only be called adoring crowds, who walked away smiling, but armed as well with new and important knowledge.”  

Previous holders of the Sol Shnider Endowed Chair for Anesthesia Education: