Fostering Junior and Mid-Career Faculty Research Careers: The 2021 Patricia Sander Anesthesia Research Awardees

Acute pain management in the PACU

We’re thrilled to announce that Drs. Marc Buren and Solmaz Manuel have been selected as the Patricia Sander Research Awardees for 2021 – 2023!

Made possible by funds from an anonymous donorThe Patricia Sander Awards support early- and mid-career faculty balancing the demands of work and home life, maximizing awardees’ chances of academic success.  Drs. Odmara Barreto Chang and Kerstin Kolodzie were the inaugural awardees, studying postoperative cognitive dysfunction and the association of skeletal muscle mass with early postoperative complications in patients undergoing deceased donor kidney transplantation, respectively. Read more about the 2021 awardees and their projects below.

Marc Buren, MD

Dr. Marc BurenDr. Buren graduated from Albany Medical College of Union University, then completed his anesthesiology internship and residency at UCSF. Since 2017, he has worked as per diem then full-time faculty in the Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care. He is studying the management of postoperative pain and delirium under the mentorship of Dr. Jacqueline Leung.  

Study: The Lidocaine Infusion for Management of Postoperative Pain and Delirium (LIMPP) Trial.

Solmaz Manuel, MD

Dr. Solmaz ManuelDr. Manuel graduated from UCSF School of Medicine, then completed her internal medicine internship at Kaiser San Francisco and her anesthesiology residency at Harvard. Since 2015, she has worked as faculty in the Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care, winning the School of Medicine’s Excellence in Teaching for Clinical Faculty Award in 2020. She is studying language-based disparities in perioperative care under the mentorship of Dr. Alicia Fernández.

Study: Understanding Disparities in Perioperative Care after Total Joint Arthroplasty for Language Minority Patients