Anesthesia Faculty Recognized for Excellence in Teaching

Anesthesia Clinical Skills Session on Ultrasound

We’re pleased to announce the following UCSF Anesthesia and Perioperative Care faculty recognized for their commitment to excellence in teaching. 


Anesthesia Residency

Wendy Smith, MD– Anesthesia and Perioperative Care Internship Director

Gabriel Sarah, MD– Associate Program Director Guidance and Development

John Turnbull, MD– Associate Program Director Curriculum Development

School of Medicine

Charlene Blake, MD, PhD

Co-Director of the Introduction to Career Launch/Coda in the Bridges Curriculum

Differences Matter Dean's Diversity Leader

Lundy Campbell, MD

Teaching Scholars Program Graduate

Denise Chang, MD

Medical Student Coach in the Bridges Curriculum

Marla Ferschl, MD

Academy of Medical Educators 

Solmaz Manuel, MD

Assistant Block Director for Airway, Blood and Circulation in the Bridges Curriculum

Angela Marsiglio, MBBS

Champion of Bioethics


Paul Su, MD

North American Neuromodulation Society (NANS) Mentorship Liaison


School of Medicine

Gabriel Sarah, MD

Academy Innovations Funding - Developing a Certificate Program in LGBTQI Clinical Practice and Research

Teaching Scholars Program

Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators Excellence in Teaching 

Joyce Chang, MD

Solmaz Manuel, MD

John Markley, MD, PhD

Julin Tang, MD

Undergraduate Research Internship Program Recognition

Jennifer Lucero, MD – Program Lead, Anesthesia and Perioperative Care

Odi Ehie, MD – Didactics, Shadowing Opportunities

Charlene Blake, MD, PhD – Shadowing Experiences

Art Wallace, MD – Research Lab Host

Helen Kim, PhD, MPH – Research Lab Host

Judith Hellman, MD – Research Lab Host


American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) 

Most Outstanding Anesthesia Interest Group in the US

Lead Faculty:

Heather Hervey-Jumper, MD

Solmaz Manuel, MD

Jeffrey Sall, MD, PhD