UCSF Residency Tracks

Innovative Residency
Our department is now offering two innovative residency tracks, one focused on Critical Care Medicine and another focused on Research.

UCSF Resident Life

UCSF Resident LifeRead stories about UCSF residents; their reasons for Anesthesia in general, and UCSF in particular.

UCSF Anesthesia News

From the Dean: Appointment of Anesthesia Chair

"I [Dean Talmadge King] am pleased to announce that, following an extensive national search, Michael Gropper, MD, PhD, has been appointed chair of the Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care, effective September 1, 2015. Dr. Gropper has served as interim chair of the department since April 1, 2014.

Dr. Gropper is a professor of anesthesia and perioperative care. In addition, he is a professor of physiology and an investigator in the Cardiovascular Research Institute (CVRI). He is internationally known for his work in improving outcomes in critically ill patients and has spearheaded successful efforts to reduce hospital-acquired harm in the ICU, especially catheter-related bloodstream infections and ventilator-associated pneumonia..."

Read Full Announcement

Judith Hellman Wins Anesthesia Award to Study Sepsis

Judith Hellman, MD, has won the 2015 Frontiers in Anesthesia Research Award to explore novel ways of understanding and combating sepsis. The award, given by the International Anesthesia Research Society once every three years, comes with $750,000 in funding.

Read UCSF Article

Anesthesia Faculty First Authors of Two NEJM Articles

Niemann CU, Feiner J, Swain S, Bunting S, Friedman M, Crutchfield M, Broglio K, Hirose R, Roberts JP, Malinoski D. Therapeutic Hypothermia in Deceased Organ Donors and Kidney-Graft Function. N Engl J Med. 2015 Jul 30;373(5):405-14.

Chen CL, Gelb AW, Dudley RA. Preoperative Testing in Patients Undergoing Cataract Surgery. N Engl J Med. 2015 Jul 16;373(3):285-6.

Pioneers of Anesthesia Lecture

Severinghaus Inventor of modern blood gas analysis, inventor of the carbon dioxide electrode, and author of over 200 peer reviewed publications in areas of gas exchange/transport, John W. Severinghaus presents "High Altitude Physiology" available to view or download in 12 segments.

View/Download Lecture

The Global Health Pathway to Discovery

Uganda Dr. Shin-e Lin, MD, anesthesia resident and Global Health Clinical Scholar, leads airway simulator session with first-year anesthesia residents in Uganda.
See more at:

52nd Annual Western Anesthesia Resident Conference (WARC)

WARC 2014 Over 400 residents and faculty from the Western United States anesthesia training programs traveled to Los Angeles and presented their work at the WARC. Out of 38 oral presentations and 209 poster presentations, 6 of the 23 UCSF Department of Anesthesia presenters received first-place awards.

Welcome to UCSF Anesthesia

UCSF Anesthesia Chairman Michael GropperThe Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care at UCSF was established in 1958 by Stuart Cullen MD. Since then, it has risen to become one of the preeminent Departments in the world. We are enormously proud of our tradition of outstanding patient care, research, and education. UCSF has a storied history of innovation in anesthesia, critical care, and pain medicine. For ten of the last eleven years, the Department has been ranked #1 nationally in NIH-funded research. Important discoveries by the Department include the first use of CPAP in premature infants, key contributions to the pharmacology of muscle relaxants and inhaled anesthetics, first demonstration of intraoperative transesophageal echocardiography, and many others. We have robust research programs, spanning the range from ion channel structure and function, to clinical and translational research.

Our trainees have become leaders across the country. We are particularly proud of our residency program, which provides unequalled diversity of experience in a major university medical center (Moffitt-Long Hospital), the San Francisco Veterans Hospital, San Francisco General Hospital (Trauma), Mount Zion Hospital, the UCSF Orthopedic Institute, and the brand new Benioff Children's, Betty Irene Moore Women's and Bakar Cancer (NIH-designated Cancer Center) Hospitals in the Mission Bay neighborhood. We offer ACGME fellowships in Critical Care Medicine, Pain Management, Cardiac Anesthesia, Obstetric Anesthesia, Pediatric Anesthesia, and many additional non-ACGME fellowships. The faculty is dedicated to teaching, nurturing, and mentoring the next generation of leaders.

Finally, we are fortunate to be located in San Francisco, in the middle of the most beautiful, diverse, and innovative part of America. We invite you to learn more about the Department.

Michael Gropper, MD, PhD
Professor and Chair

Faculty Recognition

Department research grants announced:

Jacqueline Leung, MD, MPH
NIH/NIA, R21 AG048456, "The Effects of Light vs Deep Anesthesia on Postoperative Cognitive Outcomes"

Judith Hellman, MD
International Anesthesia Research Society, 2015 Frontiers in Anesthesia Research Award, "Endothelial Inflammatory Pathway in Septic Vasculopathy and Organ Injury"

Bin Liu, PhD
Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation (MMRF), "Translational Development of Novel Antibody-drug Conjugates Against Myeloma"

James Ramsay, MD
Tenax Therapeutics, Inc., Clinical Trial – "A Double-Blind, Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Study of Levosimendan in Patients with Patients with Left Ventricular Systolic Dysfunction Undergoing Cardiac Surgery Requiring Cardiopulmonary Bypass"

Michael Gropper, MD, PhD
Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation grant, "UCSF Task Force Grant"

Jennifer Lucero, MD
UCSF Resource Allocation Program, "Intravenous Nitroglycerin for Prevention of Hysterotomy extension During Cesarean Delivery in the Second Stage of Labor"

Edward Yap, MD
Mount Zion Health Fund grant, "Enhanced Recovery Program for Total Mastectomy Patients"

Lee-lynn Chen, MD
UCSF Center for Healthcare Value, Caring Wisely "Perioperative Surgical Homes"

Wan Zhu, PhD (Mentor: Hua Su, MD)
Hereditary Hemorrhagic Telanglectasia (HHT) Foundation, "An Innovative Gene Therapy by Selective and Regulative Neutralizing VEGF in HHT Associated Brain Arteriovenous Malformation"

Romain Pirracchio, MD, PhD
University of California, Berkeley Subaward, "Semiparametric Casual Inference Methods for Adaptive Statistical Learning in Trauma Patient-Centered Outcomes Research"

Nicole Jackman, MD, PhD
UC President's Sustainability Fellowship, "Efficient Use of Fresh Gas Flow with Inhaled Anesthetics Can Decrease Costs and Impact Medical Greenhouse Gas Emissions at UCSF"

Richard Fidler, CRNA, MSN
UCSF Catalyst Program, "SuperAlarm"

General awards:

Philip E. Bickler, MD, PhD
Elected Member, California Academy of Sciences

Matthew Haight, DO
UCSF School of Medicine Faculty Council Member

The Department is pleased to announce the appointments of:

Vanessa Henke, MD
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor (June 2015)

Robyn Hilles, MD
Health Sciences Clinical Instructor (July 2015)

Lindsey Huddleston, MD
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor (July 2015)

John Markley, MD, PhD
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor (July 2015)

Bradley Randel, MD
Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor (July 2015)

Devon Smith, MD
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor (July 2015)

Jessica Tashjian, MD
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor (July 2015)